Coverart for item
The Resource The evil hours : a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder, David J. Morris

The evil hours : a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder, David J. Morris

Label
The evil hours : a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder
Title
The evil hours
Title remainder
a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder
Statement of responsibility
David J. Morris
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror, " PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame. Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1971-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Morris, David J.
Dewey number
616.85/21
Index
index present
LC call number
RC552.P67
LC item number
M68 2015
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Morris, David J
  • PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • MEDICAL / Mental Health
  • PSYCHOLOGY / General
Label
The evil hours : a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder, David J. Morris
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"An Eamon Dolan Book."
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [317]-327) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1564145
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xii, 338 pages
Isbn
9780544086616
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2014034487
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1564145
  • (OCoLC)867078138
Label
The evil hours : a biography of posttraumatic stress disorder, David J. Morris
Publication
Note
"An Eamon Dolan Book."
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [317]-327) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1564145
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xii, 338 pages
Isbn
9780544086616
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2014034487
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1564145
  • (OCoLC)867078138

Library Locations

    • Wilmington Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      175 Middlesex Avenue, Wilmington, MA, 01887, US
      42.557534 -71.1639979